How much will Valentine’s Day cost me?

J.Lo may say “Love Don’t Cost a Thing”, but Americans are planning to spend $136.57 on Valentine’s Day anyway.

How much does Valentine's Day cost?

When I chanced upon the results of NRF’s Valentine’s Day Spending Survey I knew it was the perfect material for this week’s post. Data from a reliable source that’s actually relevant and interesting? Ah, be still my geeky heart.

In today’s post, I talk through the thought process in coming up with an infographic like the one I made above.

 

 

What are the data?

The first thing I did was read through NRF’s whole press release. I emphasize whole because NRF chose to chart some data, while only talking through others.

e.g., They made a chart for planned gift recipients:

https://nrf.com/embed/chart/1671?origin=https://nrf.com/media/press-releases/nrf-says-consumers-will-spend-182-billion-valentines-day

But only mentioned the planned budgets in text:

This year’s survey found consumers plan to spend an average $85.21 on their significant other/spouse, $26.59 on other family members such as children or parents, $6.56 on children’s classmates/teachers, $6.51 on friends, $4.27 on co-workers, and $4.44 on pets.

NRF says consumers will spend $18.2 billion on Valentine’s Day

It’s easy to miss some data just because there weren’t any visualizations for them.

Since I didn’t want to miss out–after all, the juicy stories might be the ones in hiding–I made sure to read through the whole thing, keeping a tab of what data were available.

Here’s my tab, in bold are what I ended up using:

  • Planned Valentine’s Day spending for the past 10 years.
  • Average planned spending in 2007, 2016, and 2017.
  • Percentage planning to celebrate the holiday in 2007 vs 2017.
  • Average planned spend per recipient.
  • Planned Valentine’s Day gift recipients.
  • Planned gift purchases for Valentine’s Day in $.
  • The mismatch of giving vs receiving experience gifts.
  • Planned gift purchases for Valentine’s Day by percentage.
  • Where consumers plan to shop for these gifts.

 

What’s the story?

The next step was to figure out what story to tell with this data.

I found the data interesting, but I’m admittedly biased towards numbers. I had to find a reason for people to want to read the data.

So, I made the story as relatable as possible.

I’m an average guy/girl. I’m spending Valentine’s Day with someone really special in my life, and I want to make sure they know it. I’m going to spend my hard-earned cash on them!
But I don’t know how much to spend.
Am I already overspending? Or am I a being cheapskate?

How much is everybody else spending?

I crafted the story in terms of what an average person might Google and get the above data as a result.

From there, it was a matter of deciding which of the data could expound on the story.

Below was my chosen storyline:

How much is Valentine’s Day going to cost me?
Does it always cost this much?

What should I buy?

How much should I budget?
Okay, but only because he/she’s my significant other. What about everyone else?

How can I save?

I was planning to stick to three main points, but I added that last item because I wanted to remind people that they could always just opt out of the holiday. I wanted the story to have a twist at the end.

 

What tool to use?

Initially I was planning to bust out some complex Excel charts, or maybe even Power BI because I was playing around with it last week.

I even found out that a similar data set was featured on #MakeoverMonday, so a bunch of people were posting all these pretty visualizations made with Tableau. Yay, inspiration!

But then I re-read my storyline. And thought again of my target audience.

Was there any value in using fancy visualizations?

Begrudgingly, the answer was no. I wanted my audience to relate to the data, not be alienated by it. And in order to do that being simple is key.

For example, I thought it’d be cool to give a year-on-year comparison of the average spending on Valentine’s Day:

Average spend on Valentine's Day, year on year

This is the kind of thing that excites product owners and sales managers. But the average Joe or Jane? Nah, prolly not.

I also considered re-interpreting NRF’s Planned Gift Purchases chart:

https://nrf.com/embed/chart/1676?origin=https://nrf.com/media/press-releases/nrf-says-consumers-will-spend-182-billion-valentines-day

But I think people are more concerned about what other people are buying, rather than the relative amounts. So I highlighted that: I used icons to represent the most popular gifts, and downgraded the chart values to supplementary numbers.

In the end, we have an infographic made 100% in Canva. No fancy visualizations. Hmph.

It’s like I planned for a novel but walked away with a short story.

 

Aesthetics

Because its for Valentine’s Day and because its one of my favorite colors, I opted for pink.

fcr_6But not just any pink. I wanted the in-vogue Pale Dogwood (that’s Pantone 13-1404 for artsy folk, #EDCDC2 for the techies), named as one of Pantone’s top colors for Spring 2017 Fashion.

It turned out to be a little bright though, so I used the slightly darker shade #E2AE9D instead.

I then used Adobe Color CC to find a good color to go along with that pink. I settled on #624C44, a nice dark brown which stood out very well against the pink without being harsh.

As for fonts, I kept the fashion theme going by applying the fashion retail font pairing recommended by Canva. That is, Bebas Neue with Montserrat.

Coincidentally, Bebas with the brown background looks like a popular chocolate brand.

 


Overall the most difficult part was finding the story. It was a struggle trying to come up with questions people want answered versus what answers I already had with me through the data.

An easy way out would have been to take NRF’s summary and run away with it:

Valentine’s Day continues to be a popular gift-giving occasion even if consumers are being more frugal this year.
–Matthew Shay, NRF President and CEO

But I chose not to. Instead I took the hard path of trying to be “relatable”. sigh.

The aesthetics were fun. I love pink, so choosing a main color was a no-brainer. The accent colors and fonts were more deliberate choices, but made easy thanks to guides.

I’ve shared what I could out of this infographic, and I’d love to hear what you think. Any type of feedback would be appreciated.

One thought on “How much will Valentine’s Day cost me?”

Leave a Reply

