A data journalism peg: NY Times on Uber’s psychological mind games.

The New York Times is right up there with the Guardian’s Datablog in my data journalism aspirations.

One of my favorite posts of theirs is Snow Fall: a coverage of the 2012 Tunnel Creek avalanche. Its a wonderful mixture of storytelling, visualizations, and traditional journalistic interviews.

Go check it out first, I promise you won’t regret it. Just don’t forget to come back.

Unlike the Datablog however, the Times doesn’t collate their data viz content into a single page (IKR? Not even a tag!), so I often miss out on great content unless it hits viral.

(Before you suggest I subscribe to the Times, did you know they publish about 230 pieces of content daily? I’m not willing to sift through that!)

So I’m glad I didn’t miss out on this latest one: their coverage on How Uber Uses Psychological Tricks to Push Its Drivers’ Buttons.

nyt_uber
This is a serious journalism piece. Not a game. I think.

What’s to like:

  • Interactive simulations!
  • The feature viz is a throwback to the 8-bit games of the 80s–which is kind of meta, given the post talks about how Uber experimented with video game techniques to maximize profit.
  • Charts. Charts. Charts. And interactive ones at that.
  • A union of social science with data science. How exciting! I like how they incorporated psychological vocabulary into the piece (e.g. loss aversion, ludic loop, binge-watching, etc).
  • “Uber exists in a kind of legal and ethical purgatory.” Please excuse me while I writer-geek out over this analogy.

Its a pretty length piece which will take about half an hour to get through, but I argue its worth it.

Leave a Reply

